Yo peeps
ok so much has transpired since my last transmission. After checking into the hostel and having a few Halida (vietnamese beers) on our amazing rooftop bar, we continued to wait for molly to arrive. Phuong and his friends Hang and Hung took us to one of the seven karaoke bars on our street (we now refer to our street as the land of plentiful karaokes). We sat in the dark back room with terrible leather couches with massive holes boared into them and proceeded to drink heinekin and sing songs. Now, these are not your standard karaoke fare... this was 80's vietnamese love songs... ungodly awful beyond your wildest dreams!! However, I did sing about 10 songs such as tears in heaven, suspicious minds (yes elvis is famous here too), and much beatles. My first asian karaoke was a blast!!
After that, sarah, molly, and I wandered Hanoi looking for some grub. Once sufficiently lost, we stumbled upon a row of baby furniture where many vietnamese were gathered around steaming pots of amazing food. We had a broth with noodles, bok choy, and various incredible seafood things. The giant shrimp were whole and their purple beady eyes were bursting from the heat.... so nasty. To eat them, one must rip their heads off in a shocking display of carnage and rip the carapace off and munch away. I have great pics...
Went to see Phuong play at his jazz club after that. Had Bia Hoi, the local beer, and proceeded to get so tired I could not speak. Phuong is killer on the keyboard thoguh!
Today, we woke and had a traditional breakfast of Pho which is a clear broth with veggies and meat. Unfortunately, vegetarian is concept unknown to this region of the world so guess what kids??? Jeff ate meat!!! and it was pretty good too! kinda chewy though... (dad how proud are you?) Then we had the most amazing coffee in the world. Vietnam was a french colony and those frogs brought caffe with them!!! well played frenchies...
anyway, it involves lots of espresso, sweetened condensed milk, and ice.... mix and drink... so rich and somewhat unexplicably chocolatey.... cant describe the intense goodness...
and i am mad wired.
gotta go learn how to ride motorbikes like i live in Hanoi.... may die. I am expecting gore and blood....
stay tuned.
J

3 Comments:
Hey you guys! I just got back to Chicago from Ireland last night. I was too tired to read all the crazy stories that have been posted so far, so I did it first thing this morning! Wowzers. So glad that the travelling there went without any major probs. I bet you were out of your mind after the ridiculous hours of travels! Sounds wild unknown and amazing already! However... JEFF- MEAT! I hang my head in shame. :) I look forward to all the ridiculous stories to come. Sarah, Molly & Jeff- have so much fun, but always remember to travel safe and smart! (Says Mama Rambeano). By the way, you guys are already managing your blog better than sisters in capetwon. Makes me happy. All the best, looking forward to the updates! By the way it is 110 in CHicago today- nast. Best, Bean
Jeff, wow, what amazing and new experiences,and you just got there, this blog thing is pretty cool. I'm still having scary dreams involving lost elephants (a dream metaphor for lost kids traveling in Asia I'm afraid,but the blog eases my mind). Can you post pictures as time goes on? How hot is it? Probably just like Michigan, 100 tomorrow!!! We love you and miss you and are very proud that you are eating meat, I loved Dad's comments! Love, Mom
Hey mom and dad
I lived through the motorbiking and have definately broken all three campbell family rules... the motorbikes were awesome!!!! I need to get one when I get back. I will post a huge story when I get back from breakfast and tell you all about it it was unbelievable!
Bean- How was Ireland? Yeah we are asskicking this blog! Weather is nice here in the 80's way better than I was expecting!
Post a Comment
<< Home