Thursday, August 17, 2006

mountain biking

So today the three of us took our bikes to the top of the mountain to see the wat near chiang mai. We were informed that there was only one road to the wat and therefore we would not get lost, but we did. Not only did we take the wrong road to the mountain, we all three had runins with a ditch and then proceeded to get lost in this random zoo that was on the mountain although none of us could remember the point when we crossed into zoo territory... we were just driving up a mountain and next thing we know there are rhinos. They tried to make us pay for a ticket when we finally found the exit, but we just kept saying no. We eventually did find the right road and it was the craziest winding mountain road ever! Dont worry dad we wore our helmets today. We felt pretty badass driving up a mountain on motorbikes though. The view was absolutely spectacular and we had the best pad thai ever at the top. The wat was cool minus the 268 stairs (my knees are killing me) it was still functioning and had many worshipers as well as this giant gold temple in the middle. It was the most ostentatious thing I have ever seen, but very beautiful. We leave chiang mai tomorrow for Pai which should be great and will definately involve elephant riding.

ps. We ate maggots again last night when we were drunk at this reggae bar. And they were still good!!

J

1 Comments:

At 9:52 AM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Elephant Riding! Oh Man, that is so Indiana Jones... So jealous of you now- everything else I have been reading about just made me excited for you... but Elephant riding is where I have to draw the line- I mustn't ever speak to you again. We cannot be friends ever again (unless someday I rise to your level once again and ride an elephant myself)... time will tell!

Take pics, and get me P-Cards for sure homeslice!

You Elephant Riding Mother Fucker...

Bean

(You know I love you- bastard!)

 

Post a Comment

<< Home