Monday, July 31, 2006

Hum Cum we Live?

Wow. yesterday was a day of twelve days in one... Absolute insanity! Phuong, Molly, Sarah, and I rented motorbikes and after a 30 second lesson, were flying down the crowded avenues of Hanoi, narrowly escaping death at each turn! We proceeded to practice in a small parking lot where 2 little Vietnamese girls were also learning to ride bicycles. They were worse than we were and kept falling directly in front of our motorbikes and giving us coronaries. Once we were slightly comfortable, we took to the roads for the tour to end all tours!! Phuong took us in a circle around the entire city center, through winding roads and small paths near Sword Lake. We saw the rich and the poor, naked chickens fighting, babies peeing on the road, beautiful pagodas, and finally the highway of death. THe highway of death involves a two lane road, 3000 motorbikes, aggressive chicken trucks, and mean cars. Molly and I were almost wiped out by a dude in a car with murder on his mind! Luckily, we swerved out of the way and have our first "we almost died" story.... We met up with Phuong's two friends Kong and Chi who lead us to the countryside. Amazing! We stopped at a Pagoda on the red river on a street that was lined by fields and huge cows with nose rings that acted as living lawn mowers.. pictures to follow. We then drove to the middle of nowhere and stopped to have Bia Ha Hoi and some garlic french fries (along with pork that was wrapped in banana leaves for ten days and never cooked... disgusting). This was home to the most nasty bathroom (if you can call it that) It was a room with a trench all along the sides with no water to rinse the excrement anywhere.... unbelievable. Thouroghly grossed out, I walked out of the trenches to see a huge bird flu chicken coup under the sink as well.....

Then dinner at Phuong's family's house. Beautiful house, great food, such nice and welcoming people. Sarah was sick all day with wild butt, and had to go to bed after dinner. Molly and I went to this club called New Century with Phuong and his friends... I cannot stress how terrible the establishment was... Bone shakingly loud techno, epileptic seizure lights, and million dollar beers. Molly and I composed a list of terrible things we would prefer to be doing instead of being at new Century see below

Ready?

Bad things to do that are better than being at New Century: a list by Molly and Jeff-

1. Laying in bed with diarrhea cramps
2. Eating dog: preferably raw
3. Paying taxes
4. Cuttin your toenails or pubes
5. Getting a cavity filled
6. Puking our your nose
7. Waiting in traffic for 1000 hours
8. THe Spice Girls
9. The Backstreet Boys
10. Sharting in your underwear
11. Papercutting your eyeball

as you can see we had to make our own fun. On a lighter note, sarah is feeling better, and we are off for another day of unpredictable motorbike adventure!


Love getting the comments from everyone! keep it up

J

7 Comments:

At 11:20 PM, Blogger future pat said...

Jeff,
Dude, this post is awesome. You could totally write the best book of all time out of this stuff! Anyway, I miss your sorry ass-cheeks and can't wait to here from you. rock on with the motorbikes! that's some cool shit! Good thing you didn't die as well. Post again soon and stay out of trouble!
Love,
Pudge McSizzle

 
At 5:39 AM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Jeff,

Wow. Be careful. I know that your mom is already posting shit like that on the blog, but being your Chicago Mom, I feel that is is my duty to warn you to be very careful on those motorbikes! Sounds awesome though. Still shocked about the whole meat thing- we will have to have a vote on whether or not you and I can remain friends as a direct result of this little incident! :)
Ireland was great. It was crazy that we actually rode horses across the Connemara coast. It was not for the faint-hearted though, it was challenging and tiring. 6 hours a day on horse back, only stopping for lunch and to pee behind stone walls and bushes. I would tottally do another trip like this again- perhaps Germany next time around! It was fun to travel with Meg and Cait too. We had a real blast together, and were able to be best friends and mortal enemies at simultaneously!
Other than that, I am back at work and I start my Italian lessons tonight. I am excited. It should be fun, and make fora nice close to the summer.
I must get ready for work now. Miss you loads, and I will be expecting you to bring me home a bunch of postcards for my collection (if not send them to me, but I'll understand if you can't). And mofo, get me something cool and Asia-y to hang in my apartment!
Love you lots sweet cheeks
Bean

 
At 8:36 AM, Blogger Cuzin BMA said...

So, I am laughing hysterically at this blog. You guys should do this for a living--travel together and then condense your blogs into a book.

Aaaaanyway, it sounds like you guys are having a BLAST! Can't wait to read more!

I LOVE YOU!

Ashly

P.S. HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY, MOLS! I was away from my computer all weekend, but I definitely had you on my mind on the 29th!

P.P.S. So I tried to quit dog walking just now, and they wouldn't let me. Is that even legal?!?

 
At 4:29 PM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Your crazy Jeff. I love hearing stories about when you were in Nam! Do some rediculous motobiking for me over there, keep rocking on and I will read about you more later Peace 2 U!!

yer hotter

-TED-

 
At 6:11 AM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Your entries are so funny Jeff! What in the heck is a naked chicken though? Love, (yr Michigan) Mom

 
At 6:15 AM, Blogger Jeffrey Campbell said...

Hey michigan mom

Naked chickens are plucked clean of feathers... not sure if they are plucked by humans or lost them from the plague. all i know is i didnt want to stop and ask about it. Just got back from Halong Bay. It was absolutely amazingly gorgeous, but I am glad to be back in the crazy city of Hanoi. We will spend the day on motorbikes again tomorrow and then fly to saigon at night. I will try and get a good post in tomorrow as well. Love and miss you lots!

J

 
At 9:02 AM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

I can just picture you all and your "near death" experiences on the motorbikes....sounds like way too much fun.
Pace
Lainers

 

Post a Comment

<< Home